Project Description

Travel Media Awards



With no other independent media awards existing within the travel and tourism sector, APL Media and Travega wanted to fill the gap and celebrate the very best in travel media, journalism, broadcasting and photography.

Travel Media Awards


As a joint venture agreement with Travega, APL Media launched the Travel Media Awards to recognise and promote excellence in travel media.

Open to all travel writers, broadcasters and photographers, the awards are not aligned to any association or guild — meaning no barriers to entry. Submissions are judged by some of the UK’s most influential figures from the travel media, as well as the industry at large. Does this mean the travel industry or the media industry?

The 20 award categories cover a wide range of disciplines and media, including trade and consumer, print and online, and photography and broadcasting.


After the success of its inaugural year in 2015, the 2016 ceremony was held on 28 October at the ME London hotel, drawing in over 600 submissions and representing 20 publications — an increase of over 20% on 2015. The hashtag #travelmediaawards reached over 1.2M accounts and gained nearly 3.5M impressions.

A Special Contribution Award was awarded to broadcaster and former MP Michael Portillo for his long-running and successful Great Railway Journeys series.

After two successful years, the Travel Media Awards will be held for a third time in autumn 2017.


The Winners


Consumer Magazine Travel Section of the Year

Harper’s Bazaar

 Consumer Travel Publication of the Year

The Sunday Times Travel Magazine

Consumer Travel Writer of the Year

Michelle Jana Chan, Condé Nast Traveller

Customer Magazine of the Year

Excelente – Iberia

National Broadsheet Newspaper Travel Section of the Year

The Sunday Times Travel

 National Consumer Travel Feature of the Year

Orla Thomas for ‘The Real Jungle Book’ in Lonely Planet Traveller

National Tabloid Newspaper Travel Section of the Year


 Online Consumer Travel Publication of the Year

The Telegraph

 Online Travel Trade Publication of the Year


Regional Publication Travel Feature of the Year

Ian Belcher for ‘The Rock Less Travelled’ in Brummell Magazine

Special Contribution Award

Michael Portillo

Travel and Tourism Photography Award

Sergio Villalba for ‘British Virgin Islands: Learning the ropes’ in The Sunday Times Travel Magazine

 Travel Blogger and Vlogger of the Year

Alex Hunter –

Travel Broadcast Programme of the Year – TV, Radio, Online

Mark Stratton: Between Life and Death – Toraja People of Sulawesi, BBC From Our Own Correspondent

Travel Guide Book of the Year

Bradt – A Summer of British Wildlife, by James Lowen

Travel Media Innovative Campaign and Content of the Year

‘Travel Memories’ commercial and editorial partnership by Harper’s Bazaar for The Ritz-Carlton

Travel Trade Feature of the Year

Chloe Cann for ‘Lost and Found in the Wild’ in TTG

Travel Trade Publication of the Year

Selling Travel

Travel Trade Writer of the Year

Peter Ellegard, Freelance

Young Travel Writer of the Year

Hannah Summers, Escapism

Travel Media Awards 2016