Project Description

The winners of the Travel Media Awards 2017, along with Special Contribution Award recipient, Rick Stein OBE, and Judith Chalmers OBE



With no other independent media awards existing within the travel and tourism sector, APL Media and Travega wanted to fill the gap and celebrate the very best in travel media, journalism, broadcasting and photography.

Travel Media Awards


As a joint venture agreement with Travega, APL Media launched the Travel Media Awards to recognise and promote excellence in travel media.

Open to all travel writers, broadcasters and photographers, the awards are not aligned to any association or guild — meaning no barriers to entry. Submissions are judged by some of the UK’s most influential figures from the travel media, as well as the travel industry at large.

The 20 award categories cover a wide range of disciplines and media, including trade and consumer, print and online, and photography and broadcasting.


After the success of 2016’s awards, the ceremony was held on 18 October at the ME London Hotel, drawing in over 700 submissions — an increase of over 15% on 2015. The hashtag #travelmediaawards reached over 1.2M accounts and gained nearly 3.5M impressions.

A Special Contribution Award was awarded to food writer, restaurateur and broadcaster Rick Stein OBE, for his books and television programmes that have showcased some of the world’s most exciting culinary destinations.

After three successful years, the Travel Media Awards will return again in 2018.

The Winners


Consumer Magazine Travel Section of the Year


 Consumer Travel Publication of the Year

Lonely Planet Traveller 

Consumer Travel Writer of the Year

Oliver Smith, Lonely Planet Traveller

Customer Magazine of the Year

easyJet Traveller 

National Broadsheet Newspaper Travel Section of the Year

The Sunday Times Travel

 National Consumer Travel Feature of the Year

Julia Buckley for ‘Life on the Heel’ in National Geographic Traveller (UK)

National Tabloid Newspaper Travel Section of the Year

Metro – Escape

 Online Consumer Travel Publication of the Year

SUITCASE Magazine –

Travel Trade Publication of the Year – Online

TTG Media –

Regional Publication Travel Feature of the Year

Sarah Marshall for ‘An Adventure Waiting to Happen’ in Manchester Evening News

Special Contribution Award

Rick Stein OBE

Photography Award

Jonathan Gregson for ‘Once Upon a Time in the West’ in Lonely Planet Traveller

Blogger of the Year 

Bridges and Balloons – Victoria Watts Kennedy –

Vlogger of the Year

Alex Hunter –

Broadcast Programme of the Year – TV, Radio, Online

Terry Abraham: Life of a Mountain: A Year on Blencathra, BBC Four

Travel Guide Book of the Year

Wild Things Publishing – The Scottish Bothy Bible, by Geoff Allan

Travel Trade Feature of the Year

Jeannine Williamson for ‘Setting Sail for the Past in Cuba’ Cruise Adviser

Travel Trade Publication of the Year – Print

TTG Luxury

Travel Trade Writer of the Year

Jennifer Morris, TTG

Young Travel Writer of the Year

Adam Edwards, Freelance

Travel Media Awards 2017