Case Study:

Travel Media Awards


The brief

With no other independent media awards existing within the travel and tourism sector, APL Media and Travega wanted to fill the gap and celebrate the very best in travel media, journalism, broadcasting and photography.

Travel Media Awards
The Travel Media Awards 2021. Image: Hannan Images

Our approach

As a joint venture agreement with Travega, APL Media launched the Travel Media Awards to recognise and promote excellence in travel media.

Open to all travel writers, broadcasters and photographers, the awards are not aligned to any association or guild — meaning no barriers to entry. Submissions are judged by some of the UK’s most influential figures from the travel media, as well as the travel industry at large.

The award categories cover a wide range of disciplines and media, including trade and consumer, print and online, and photography and broadcasting.

Key figures


Attendees in 2021


Entries in 2021


Award Categories






Email Subscribers

Our results

Since its launch in 2015, the Travel Media Awards has seen seven glittering ceremonies celebrating excellence and achievement across all forms of travel media.

The winners of the 2021 Awards were announced during a live event held on 18 October at the Kimpton Fitzroy London, attended by representatives of the UK’s top travel media. At the event, 20 publications, broadcasters, journalists and photographers were honoured with prestigious awards.

Paralympic medallist, TV presenter and journalist Ade Adepitan was honoured with the Special Contribution Award, which each year recognises someone who’s made an extraordinary contribution to travel. Adepitan’s television work has taken him across the globe, presenting The Travel Show for BBC World News, reporting foreign affairs and travel stories for Channel 4’s Unreported World and presenting a four-part series for BBC Two, Africa with Ade Adepitan.  

The Travel Media Awards 2022 is now open for entry. The winners will be announced at a ceremony at The Dorchester on Monday 26 September

“My favourite networking event of the year is the Travel Media Awards. It’s the one event of the year where leading editors of nearly all national media and trade titles and some of the most high profile digital influencers, photographers and broadcasters come together. It’s a celebration of travel media talent with everyone in one room — fantastic networking and great fun too!”

Rachel O’Reilly
Head of Communications, Kuoni – Judge and category sponsor at the Travel Media Awards 2019
The Travel Media Awards 2021. Image: Hannan Images