APL Media logo

back to news

News  /  6th September 2021

Travel Media Awards 2021 Finalists Announced

TMA 2021 logo

Travel Media Awards 2021 Finalists Announced

LONDON (6 September 2021) — Judging for the Travel Media Awards is now complete. The judging panel, made up of some 55 judges from leading travel businesses and travel media, has now whittled down the huge number of entries to compile a shortlist representing the very best of travel journalism, photography and broadcasting.

There are 104 finalists across 20 categories, covering all areas of travel media, both trade and consumer, including print and online media, broadcasting, blogging and photography.

Giles Harper, co-founder of the Travel Media Awards said: “Despite the challenges presented by COVID-19, entry levels to the awards remained high. Thank you, not only to the shortlisted finalists, but everyone who took the time and effort to enter. Congratulations to the shortlisted entries and we look forward to revealing the winners on 18 October.”

Anthony Leyens, co-founder of the Travel Media Awards and CEO of APL Media, said: “We’re looking forward not just to seeing who picks up the award for each category, but having the chance to celebrate with our finalists and winners in person at the Kimpton Fitzroy Hotel in October.”

The finalists are as follows:

Blogger/Vlogger of the Year
Alex Outhwaite (youtube.com/alexouthwaite)
Borders of Adventure — Becki Enright (bordersofadventure.com)
Continent Hop — Lavina Dsouza (continenthop.com)
Day Out in England — Victoria Philpott (dayoutinengland.com)
Life of Reilly — David Reilly (youtube.com/lifeofreillytv)

Breaking Travel News
Emma Featherstone, The Telegraph
Heidi Fuller-Love, BBC and The Telegraph
Julia Buckley, CNN Travel and Financial Times
Lee Cobaj, The Times
Trevor Baker, Which? Travel

Broadcast Programme of the Year — TV, radio, online or podcast
Britain by bike: what it was like cycling 1,307 miles as the UK locked down —Telegraph Travel
Coronavirus: the lockdown travel plans spreading hope — The BBC Travel Show
From Our Own Correspondent: travelling during coronavirus — BBC Radio 4
Hitchhiking, galaxies, and why travel is not bad for the planet — Michelle Jana Chan for TEDx Talks
Wander Woman: ‘Quirk and Circumstance’ — Buzzsprout

Consumer Magazine Section of the Year
Breathe Magazine
Harper’s Bazaar
Time Out London — Escapes
Town & Country
Vanity Fair

Consumer Publication of the Year — Online
BBC Travel — bbc.com/travel
Globetrender — globetrender.com
Intrepid Times — intrepidtimes.com
The Local Tongue — thelocaltongue.com
Suitcase — suitcasemag.com

Consumer Publication of the Year — Print
Food and Travel
Travel Africa

Consumer Writer of the Year
Ian Belcher, Brummell Magazine and Sunday Times Travel Magazine
Joey Tyson, Wired for Adventure
Kerry Walker, National Geographic Traveller (UK) and The Telegraph
Lauren Jarvis, Breathe
Stanley Stewart, Condé Nast Traveller and Financial Times

Customer Content
Carrier The Paper
Charitable Traveller
Hurtigruten Magazine
Much Better Adventures magazine

Guide of the Year — Book, online, app
Bradt Guides Socotra
DK Eyewitness Chile and Easter Island
The Flightless Traveller by Emma Gregg
Havana Pocket Precincts
The Local Tongue (thelocaltongue.com)

National Broadsheet Newsprint Section
The Guardian
Sunday Times Travel
The Telegraph
The Times

National Consumer Feature of the Year
Ash Bhardwaj for ‘Travellers of Colour’ in Telegraph Travel
Jamie Lafferty for ‘Wish I were there: South Georgia on my mind’ in Financial Times
Juliet Rix for ‘Northern Comfort’ in Tonic
Stanley Stewart for ‘The Forth Dimension’ in Condé Nast Traveller
Uwern Jong for ‘The Experientialist Awards’ in OutThere

National Tabloid Newsprint Section
Daily Mail
Daily Star
Sunday Mirror
The Sun
The Sun on Sunday

Photography Award
Emily Garthwaite
Francesco Lastrucci
Mark Parren Taylor
Nori Jemil
Sarah Marshall

Regional Publication Feature of the Year
Helen Warwick for ‘When this all over, I’m going to…’ in Cheshire Life
James Draven for ‘Return to the Red Sea’ in Evening Standard
Rebecca Barnes for ‘Naturally Greek’ in The Jewish Chronicle
Rebecca Hay for ‘See Scotland from a braw bothy in a magical destination’ in The Press and Journal
Sarah Marshall for ‘Ibiza Unplugged’ in The Herald Magazine

Specialist Travel Writer of the Year
Ben Lerwill, hiking
Chris Tharp, Korea and Japan
Claire Boobbyer, Cuba
Jordi Lippe-McGraw, hopeful/positive travel writing
Kerry Walker, Wales

Sustainability Travel Feature of the Year
Fleur Rollet-Manus for ‘Save our shops: the community projects reshaping Britain’s high streets’ for Suitcase
Jamie Lafferty for ‘Life on the water: human stories from Kerala’s palm-fringed backwaters’ for National Geographic Traveller (UK)
Kerry Walker for ‘Journeys with a purpose’ for National Geographic Traveller (UK)
Phoebe Smith for ‘On the hoof: pack pony trekking in the mountains of Wales’ for The Guardian
Sarah Marshall for ‘A fragile life at the frozen edge of Europe’ for The Sunday Telegraph

Trade Publication of the Year — Online
ABTA Magazine — abtamag.com
Cruise Adviser — cruiseadviser.com
Travel Gossip — travelgossip.co.uk

Trade Publication of the Year — Print
The Business Travel Magazine
Cruise Trade News
Onboard Hospitality
Selling Travel

Trade Writer of the Year
Anthony Pearce, ABTA Magazine
Bev Fearis, The Business Travel Magazine
Lauren Jarvis, Selling Canada
Stuart Forster, Selling Travel
Tom Parry, TTG

Young Writer of the Year
Ben Parker, The Telegraph
Georgia Stephens, The Times and The Sunday Times
Jessica Vincent, BBC Travel and The Independent
Rae Boocock, Suitcase
Richard Franks, The Guardian and The Telegraph

The Travel Media Awards looks forward to welcoming all shortlisted entrants to the ceremony at the Kimpton Fitzroy London Hotel on Monday 18 October.

Key dates for the 2021 Travel Media Awards:
18 October — awards ceremony takes place

For more information, visit travelmediaawards.com or contact:
T: 020 3818 5600
E: [email protected]

Notes for Editors

The Travel Media Awards was launched in 2015 to celebrate the very best of the travel media sector. Open to all travel writers, broadcasters and photographers, the awards acts as a true barometer of the travel media sector. The Travel Media Awards is owned and operated under a joint venture agreement between Travega and APL Media Limited.

The 2020 awards were held as a successful online event, with more than 300 travel media and industry professionals watching. The event saw 22 publications, broadcasters, journalists and photographers awarded prestigious trophies. They included adventurer, author and photographer Levison Wood, who was presented with the Special Contribution Award. travelmediaawards.com

APL Media Limited works across the travel and lifestyle sectors in a number of media, from print through to events. APL Media produces the award-winning National Geographic Traveller (UK), National Geographic Traveller Food, Postcards, and a series of lifestyle newspaper supplements, apps and websites. APL Media does not enter its own products into the Travel Media Awards. aplmedia.co.uk

Established 7 years ago Travega offers a wide range of travel marketing and sales solutions covering both the business and leisure sectors. These include creating and delivering new sponsorship solutions and revenues for some of the leading events in the UK travel industry, alongside event management of a number of leading travel brands. travega.co.uk