APL Media logo

back to news

News  /  11th March 2024

Travel Media Awards 2024 celebrates its 10th anniversary  


Travel Media Awards 2024 celebrates its 10th anniversary  

The 10th annual Travel Media Awards, in association with Visit Qatar, is now open for entry. This year is set to be the biggest awards yet, with new categories and new judges — and a star-studded ceremony hosted at the Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane on 28 October

Entry is free, quick and simple. Entrants can choose from 23 categories to showcase their work and be recognised by industry leaders and peers. Submissions close on 17 May.  

This year sees several new and refreshed categories. In line with the awards’ commitment to inclusivity and diversity, Accessible Travel Writer of the Year will recognise journalists who raise awareness of the issues around accessible travel while remaining inspiring and informative in their storytelling.  

Emerging Travel Writer of the Year looks to celebrate up-and-coming journalists, while Specialist Travel Writer of the Year – Sector and Specialist Travel Writer of the Year – Region address the increased importance of specialism in the travel media. This follows the success of last year’s new category, Sustainability Travel Writer of the Year.  

Giles Harper, co-founder of the Travel Media Awards and managing director of Travega, said: “The Travel Media Awards is pleased to be celebrating a decade of honouring excellence in the travel media sector. We’re excited to receive entries for our 10th anniversary and toast the industry’s best at The Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane on 28 October.”  

Entry is free of charge and the winner of each category will be decided by a panel of influential travel industry and media personnel. A minimum of 25% of all judges are new to the awards each year and no one judges the same category year after year, ensuring only the very best in class take home a coveted trophy. 

Anthony Leyens, joint co-founder of the Travel Media Awards and CEO of APL Media Limited, said: “For 10 years, the Travel Media Awards has been a platform for spotlighting the top talent of the travel media industry. Amid economic uncertainty, political turmoil and ongoing conflicts, the exceptional journalistic standards of the travel media have been instrumental in maintaining stability within the travel media industry. We’re looking forward to celebrating the achievements of the very best of the travel media at this year’s event.” 

Covering both trade and consumer media, further categories include National Broadsheet Newspaper Section of the Year, Broadcast Programme of the Year, Breaking Travel News of the Year, Sustainability Feature of the Year and the Photography Award. 

For more information and to enter, visit travelmediaawards.com